The Earth Speaks

Posted by:
Date: April 06, 2015 06:00pm — April 26, 2015 09:00pm
Categories: Conferences & Lectures
Location: ARTSPACE Gallery, 18 N. Seventh St., Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania 18360
Add this Event to Google Calendar

THE EARTH SPEAKS is a juried exhibit in the ArtSpace Gallery, (Stroudsburg, PA) arising from a deepening concern for the climate crisis currently affecting our planet. Art has always been a powerful vehicle for raising consciousness, and this exhibit hopes to bring to light our growing awareness of a crisis we can no longer ignore. THE EARTH SPEAKS is a National open call for work that focuses the attention of the viewing public on the gravity of the issue.

JUROR – Patricia Watts, founder of ecoartspace in 1997. In 1999 she partnered with Amy Lipton in NYC and together they have produced numerous exhibitions and programs. Watts has participated as panelist at numerous conferences and has given lectures at art departments internationally on art and ecology.

Opening Reception, Saturday, April 18, 2015
Deadline for Submission, January 31, 2015
Notification of Winning Entries, February 13, 2015
Winning Entries Arrive at Gallery, On or Before March 6, 2015

Juror’s Choice Award: $500 cash, a feature on the PoconoArts website, and an article in its monthly newsletter following the exhibition.
Curators Award: $100 cash
2-D Award: $100 cash
3-D Award: $100 cash
Photography Award: $100 cash
Printmaking Award: $100 cash
ArtSpace Student Award: $100 cash

Stefani Allegretti – Stephen Barnwell – John Bassett – Joseph W. Bigley – Nancy Bohm – Kati Christoffel – Donald Cooper – Rachel Lynn Davis – Ricardo Dominguez –Duncan – Jack Elliott – Darlene Farris-Labar –Gibbs – Angela Gonzalez – James Gwynne – Peter Hay- Kathy Hettinga – Shane Izykowski – Reena Konda – Christopher Lee – Stuart Lehrman – George Lorio – Issariya Manakongtreecheep – Claire Marcus – Andrea Mauery – Alan McAnulty –Elizabeth McCue –Brandi Merolla – Kristen Miele-Beatty – Bergy Bit- Nikki Mosier –Lewis Well & Fracking Pond- Joni Oye-Benintende – Joan Polishook –John Collier Sabraw – Joan Sayer – David Strunk – Jill Swersie –Stephen Washington – Randy Wilkerson –John Yetter – Jave Yoshimoto –Annette Zalanowski – Minoosh Zomorodinia

award winners:
Juror’s Choice – Do You Buy It? By Nikki Mosier, Scranton PA
3-D Award – Pocono Native Plants: Wild Columbine 2, Darlene Farris-        Labar, Stroudsburg PA
ArtSpace Student Award – C(h)oral Communities, Ethan Hamby, Watertown MA
2-D Award – Chroma S1 15, John Collier Sabraw, Athens OH
Printmaking Award – Venus of Trash Isle, Jave Yoshimoto, Alva OK

Photography Award – Ice Tunnel, Minoosh Zomorodinia, Albany CA