19th Heinz Awards Recepients

Posted by:
Date: April 15, 2024

The 19th Annual Heinz AwardsThe Heinz Awards pay tribute to the memory of Senator H. John Heinz III by celebrating those who embrace, as he did, the joyous American belief that individuals have both the power and responsibility to change the world for the better.

As a reminder of the virtues of hard work, determination, excellence and a broad vision for the future, the Heinz Family Foundation annually recognizes a remarkable group of individuals for their extraordinary contributions.


I am pleased and honored to introduce you to the recipients of the 19th Heinz Awards.

This year’s winners include an author whose critically acclaimed stories draw from his experience and compassion as a physician, an environmental scientist leading the research on finding long-term, sustainable solutions to feeding an ever-growing population, a pioneering educator who has built a free, online teaching platform that has reimagined how students learn, a doctor who has created an innovative health care model to treat rural and underserved patients, and a social entrepreneur using digital technology to create employment for people in impoverished regions of the world.

The 19th Heinz Awards recipients are:

Abraham Verghese (Arts and Humanities)
Jonathan Foley (Environment)
Salman Khan (Human Condition)
Sanjeev Arora (Public Policy)
Leila Janah (Technology, the Economy and Employment)

To learn more about the remarkable contributions of these individuals, please visit our website atwww.heinzawards.net.

Thank you again for your continued support of the Heinz Awards.


Teresa Heinz, Chairman
Heinz Family Foundation

To easily follow Heinz Awards news, events, images and other content,
just fan our Facebook public page, or for more immediate updates simply follow us on Twitter.

If you wish to be removed from our mailing list, you may unsubscribe here.